The Baby, in Fruit

In an effort to not stress about things I can’t control I’ve tried to follow my doctor’s advice during the pregnancy — instead of reading book after book with conflicting advice and information, I should use common sense, look things up on the American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, and ask the doctor when I have questions. I did want to have a little more frequent information about what was going on with the baby, so I downloaded an app that gives me daily tips (sometimes they are really helpful, I mean who knew I needed to eat 70 g of protein a day? and other times ridiculously gender stereotyped) as well as a weekly update about how the baby is developing and what is happening to my body.

All in all, it’s been a good resource, but one aspect of theweeksfruit app drives my husband totally nuts — the baby to fruit comparison. Yes, each week it compares the size of the baby to a piece of fruit. In week 21 the app has deemed that the baby is the size of a banana, but in week 20 it was the size of a cantaloupe. Even I find that transition slightly flawed. There was also a week where my husband repeatedly said, “Have they ever seen a peach?! How is a lemon bigger than a peach?!”

I receive another weekly email from thebump.com which I initially thought was linked to the app but apparently isn’t because they also compare my unborn child to fruit, but this week our little hippo transitioned from a banana to a pomegranate according to them. Again, what? A 10.5 inch pomegranate?!

I have to admit that I look forward to seeing how these websites will compare the baby to fruit more for my husband’s exasperated reaction than for me to have a greater understanding of the baby’s size. Thanks for the laughs, baby!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

